This is the Throw Back 39 post for Friday, March 7, aka FMF – Fond Memory Friday. It might not catch on like TBT Throw Back Thursday but it’s worth a shot.

I was going through some old photos and found this photo that I love. It’s of my spouse with our late, great, dog, Java, AKA Java the Mutt.

Java the Mutt

This was taken in the spring of 2010, at the annual Washington Animal Rescue League (WARL) fundraising event at Union Station in Washington, D.C. I love this photo not only because I like seeing a man in a tux and it was a fun night, I love the way that Java is looking at Blake. She adored him, and we adored her. And spoiled her rotten.

By most measures, she was not a good dog. Stubborn, food obsessed, none too bright, flatulent. But there was something special about that dog that made her lovable and unforgettable. I guess she just had a good personality. A big personality. And a sweet nature. I had her in my life for 12 great years and there is rarely a day that goes by that I don’t think about her.

I’m glad we took her to the event that night – even though she was already older and slower, her once clear eyes cloudy – she spent the night snacking on gourmet goodies and being cooed over by the other partygoers, and being followed around by the photographers – who can resist a sweet dog with a snoot all speckled in white. We got to spend a special evening with her, and my husband came home with Milk Bone crumbs in his pocket.

You are missed, Java.

TB39 – Day 7 – Remembering a Dog

Image

Leave a Reply

